The Snow Country Tourism Zone is a government initiative to encourage tourism to a fascinating part of rural Japan that lies a few hundred kilometers to the north west of Tokyo. 7 towns across 3 prefectures, all united by the heavy winter snow, have banded together to promote the region as a whole.

The areas are Echigo-Yuzawa, Minami Uonuma, Uonuma, Tokamachi and Tsunan in Niigata prefecture, Minakami in Gunma prefecture, and Sakae Village in Nagano prefecture.

For an overview of some of the many attractions in the region please feel free to browse the Snow-Country.jp website.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s